Gluten-Free Diet – A Handy Pocket List of Foods You Can Eat

Gluten Free Foods ListFood allergies are severely limiting in terms of what you can and can’t eat. A handy pocket list of foods you can eat on a gluten free diet can make all the difference. Gluten allergy, also called celiac disease, is an autoimmune disease in which the small intestine is unable to breakdown the gluten protein in the food. This intolerance manifests as diarrhea or constipation, bloating, migraine headaches, fatigue, pain in the joints and dizziness.

If you’ve recently been diagnosed with gluten sensitivity, the one question plaguing you is – What can I eat on a gluten-free diet?

Being in the know can really help prevent debilitating allergy flare-ups. So, here’s a handy pocket list of foods you can eat on a gluten-free diet.

List of Gluten Free Foods

Grains and Cereals

Oats are very much on the menu for a gluten-free diet. However, you need to be careful about cross contamination with wheat. Oats do not contain gluten naturally; however, they are processed in the same machines as wheat. That’s where they pick up the gluten from. Look for oats varieties labeled gluten-free.

The other gluten-free grains you can enjoy include rice (brown, wild and white), quinoa, millet, buckwheat, amaranth, corn, sorghum, teff, chia seeds and flax seeds.

Meats, Poultry and Fish

These make good protein sources on a gluten-free diet. You can eat fresh cuts of chicken, beef, pork, lamb and turkey. Whole eggs should not cause any harm too. Speaking about fish, you can eat trout, sardines, salmon, black cod, herring, grouper, shell fish and mollusks.

What you need to beware of is breaded, floured and marinated meats and seafood. Soy sauce and teriyaki sauce contains gluten. Thus, when used as a marinade it might aggravate your gluten insensitivity.

Fruits and Vegetables

What can I eat on a gluten-free diet? Fruits and vegetables? Yes, of course! You can eat them in plenty.

Eat them fresh and frozen. Watch out for canned and processed fruits and vegetables though. Some prepackaged fruit and vegetable products contain gluten sources such as wheat and rye enough to trigger an allergic reaction. So, read the product labels carefully.

Milk and Dairy Products

Milk, cheese, yoghurt and ice cream are all safe to eat provided they are in their plain, pure forms. Thus, you can have plain milk and plain yoghurt without a second thought, but you will have to read the labels for flavored milks and yoghurt.

Processed cheese, especially “the beer-washed” varieties, might contain gluten. Hence, they are best avoided. Chocolate chip cookie ice cream pies and sandwiches are also off the menu because of those small chunks of cookie dough they contain.

Beverages and Alcohol

Need those cups of coffee to get through the day? Don’t worry, for your gluten allergy is not knocking it off the list. You can have tea and coffee as much as you like.

In the alcohol section, you have the green light for wine, sherry, port, hard ciders and distilled liquors (even if made from gluten free grains). The distillation process does away with the gluten. Avoid beers, lagers and ales; they contain gluten in varying proportions.

Switching to a gluten-free diet is not only about finding an answer to “what can I eat on a gluten free diet” but also “what should I avoid for gluten sensitivity”. Take the right precautions and live a happy, healthy life.

Soups and Seasonings

Instant soups are a fad. However, they are one of those secret sources of gluten. Read the labels before you buy them. Be on the safe side by preparing your own soup at home.

For seasoning and flavoring, use natural ingredients rather than artificial varieties. Like a dash of honey or chocolate for sweetening. You can use distilled vinegar as a salad dressing.

Other Substitutes
– You can eat pasta made of quinoa or rice instead of the traditional semolina pasta.
– You can use gluten-free bread for your sandwiches and burgers.
– Nuts and seeds must be had in their unprocessed forms.